Successive Approximations

September 12, 2008 at 1:35 pm 5 comments

I don’t know if that makes any sense, but somehow I feel like writing something in English. I have many dreams, one of them, one of the less achievable ones, is to win a Nobel prize in economics. I’ve been reading some Nobel laureates and they all write in English, they all have a lot to say as well.  Maybe the only way to be truly heard by many is like that, in English. It is kind of strange to write things in a language that is not your own, somehow all the things you want to say get new contours, new colors. Each dream, each plan, each thought, seems deeper, seems to mean more, to be worth more. Maybe that is the magic of learning new languages, being able to tell the same thing in another way, a way that makes people, who would not pay any attention otherwise, aware that you have something to say, and that it is worth reading, it is worth listening. I’ve noticed the benefits of sometimes using another language myself quite a while ago, there are some things that only exists in one language, some words, some ideas, some expressions, it is not uncommon for me to use them, but writing entire texts is something I usually avoid, until now. I think we should always try to say the things that mean a lot to us in multiple ways, it is something very close to Weber’s method of successive approximations, it is particularly good for communicating feelings or emotions. It is not unusual at all for me to have the feeling I didn’t get the message across, especially when I’m communicating emotions or feelings, they are always so unique, so hard to touch, to organize. To explain them in a certain way, then to look for another way of looking at it, to shed light at some other angle, to say it in another language, with other words. It is like an iterated process, each time we get closer and closer to what we really wanted to say, maybe never really reaching it, but that is what makes living life exciting, imperfect information.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ariela Choice – part one

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Larissa  |  September 15, 2008 at 12:12 am

    “Each dream, each plan, each thought, seems deeper, seems to mean more, to be worth more.”

    Just agree!

    By the way, I’ve finally written again.

    Reply
  • 2. Grande Rael  |  September 15, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    i guess

    Reply
  • 3. Lupilo  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:55 am

    hahahah!
    imperfect information makes living exciting. just funny. for me, imperfect information makes money, job and, surely, it’s THE obstacle to surpass

    so nice words, happy to read them.
    good luck with the nobel stuff

    kisses

    Reply
  • 4. Clouncoutsoum  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Oh my god enjoyed reading this post. I added your feed to my blogreader!!

    Reply
  • 5. buying real estate in belize  |  April 20, 2013 at 2:19 am

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog

    and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

